Election Information for Spring 2020

The Association’s recent adoption of the new Constitution has resulted in some important changes to how our leadership is elected.  The new Board of Trustees will be elected this spring.  The election of the President-Elect Designee and Secretary will be included in the spring in 2021 election cycle.   The election of the Association’s Delegate to the American Bar Association’s House of Delegate remains unchanged as does that of the Young Lawyers Section’s leadership. 

Board of Trustees 

The Association’s membership voted to approve the governance restructure proposal, part of which merges the existing Board of Governors and House of Delegates into a single governing body made up of 60 trustees. The body will consist of fifteen (15) Trustee Districts, with four (4) Trustees elected from each Trustee District.  Each of the initial positions are available for election.  Article IV of the newly adopted Constitution outlines the responsibilities of the Trustees. 

Trustees’ terms shall be staggered and at least one (1) Trustee shall be elected from each Trustee District each year. Members elected to the Board shall serve for a term of three (3) years and shall assume office at the end of the Association’s Annual Meeting held following their election. The term will end at the conclusion of the Association’s Annual Meeting three (3) years later. A member of the Association who serves six (6) years as a member of the Board of Trustees shall be given the status of Tenured Trustee. Tenured Trustees will be ex-officio members of the Board of Trustees with the right to participate in all proceedings but without the right to vote. 


The new Constitution’s Article III outlines the procedure for electing the Association’s Officers.  The President, President-Elect, President-Elect Designee and Secretary shall be elected by the membership of the Association and the Treasurer shall be elected by the Board of Trustees. The President shall appoint the Parliamentarian subject to ratification by the Board of Trustees.

2020-2021 Nominating Petitions

2020-2021 Board of Trustees Nomination Petition

2020-2021 Young Lawyers Section Chair Elect Petition

2020-2021 Young Lawyers Section District Representative Petition