

PRESS RELEASE For Immediate Release

For more information, including photos, contact ahubbard@arkbar.com

Arkansas Bar Association Announces Award Recipients

2020-2021 Arkansas Bar Association President Paul W. Keith selected the following association members as award recipients for their outstanding work and service to the Association. The awards were presented virtually during the association's annual meeting on June 17.

Presidential Awards of Excellence:

- Joseph F. Kolb, ArkBar President-Elect and principal member of the law firm, j. k o l b, Little Rock, for several years of service as treasurer
- Aaron L. Squyres, Wilson & Associates, PLLC, Little Rock, for several years of service as parliamentarian
- Pulaski County Bar Association for years of service to the legal profession

Golden Gavel Awards:

- Kandice A. Bell, Office of Governor Asa Hutchinson, White Hall, for her work as ABCDI Chair
- Beverly I. Brister, The Brister Firm, Benton, for her work on the Constitution Day Video
- Lillian Dee Davenport, Simmons Wealth Management, Little Rock, for her work as Mid-Year Coordinator
- Brent J. Eubanks, Humphries, Odum & Eubanks, Little Rock, for his work as PAC Chair
- Prof. Lynn Foster, UA Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law, for her work as chair of the Legislation Committee
- Adrienne Morris Griffis, Dover Dixon Horne PLLC, Little Rock, for her work on the Virtual Mock Trial Competition
- Christopher M. Hussein, Legal Aid of Arkansas, Springdale, for his work as Young Lawyers Section Chair for the past two years
- Anton Leo Janik, Jr., Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C., Little Rock, for his work as the chair of the Editorial Advisory Board
- Sarah C. Jewell, McMath Woods, P.A., Fayetteville, for her work as Annual Meeting Co-Chair
- Jamie Huffman Jones, Friday, Eldredge & Clark LLP, Little Rock, for her work as Annual Meeting Co-Chair
- Joseph F. Kolb, ArkBar President-Elect and principal member of the law firm, j. k o l b, Little Rock, for his work on the ABCDI Survey
- Deepali Lal, UA Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law, Little Rock, for her work on the ABCDI Survey

- Jessica Virden Mallett, Law Offices of Peter Miller P. A., Little Rock, for her work as Chair of Sponsorship Committee
- Anthony L. McMullen, University of Central Arkansas Director of Forensics, Conway, for his work on the Virtual Mock Trial Competition
- G. S. Brant Perkins, The Perkins Law Firm, P.A., Jonesboro, for his work as chair of the By-Laws Drafting Sub-Committee
- Brian M. Rosenthal, Rose Law Firm, Little Rock, for his work on the ABCDI Survey and a second Golden Gavel for his work on the Sponsorship Committee
- George M. Rozzell, Miller, Butler, Schneider, Pawlik & Rozzell, PLLC, Fayetteville, for his work on the Sponsorship Committee

Continuing Legal Education Awards:

- Vanessa Cash Adams, ARlaw Partners, PLLC, Little Rock, for planning the 2021 Debtor/Creditor Conference
- Jennifer L. Zwiegers, Arkansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc., Little Rock, for Co-Planning 24th Environmental Law Conference
- Sarah Murphy McDaniel, Mackie, Wolf, Zientz & Mann, P.C., Little Rock, for planning the 2021 Debtor/Creditor Conference
- Lindsey Emerson Raines, Friday, Eldredge & Clark LLP, Little Rock, for planning the 2021 Debtor/Creditor Conference
- Stuart Larson Spencer, Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C., Little Rock, for Co-Planning 24th Environmental Law Conference

Maurice Cathey Award

• Bill Waddell, Friday, Eldredge & Clark LLP, Little Rock, for contributions to The Arkansas Lawyer Magazine

Frank C. Elcan Award

• Christopher M. Hussein, Legal Aid of Arkansas, Springdale, for his commitment and dedication to the Young Lawyers Section

Judith Ryan Gray Young Lawyer Service Award

• Payton C. Bentley, Clark Law Firm, PLLC, Fayetteville, for exemplary service and outstanding contributions directed toward improving the administration of justice and promoting the public welfare on behalf of the Young Lawyers Section of the Arkansas Bar Association

YLS Award of Excellence

- Alexandra C. Benton, Blair & Stroud, Batesville, for her work taking the lead on the Domestic Violence Handbook update and YLS trivia night
- Ray Slaton, Hyden, Miron & Foster, PLLC, Little Rock, for his work on the Wills for Heroes project

Legislative Awards

The following individuals are being honored for their efforts during the legislative session: Matthew C. Boch, Dover Dixon Horne, Little Rock Carol Goforth, University of Arkansas School of Law, Fayetteville David Allen Grace, Hardin & Grace, P.A., North Little Rock Anthony A. Hilliard, Ramsay, Bridgforth, Robinson & Raley LLP, Pine Bluff Glen Hoggard, Attorney at Law, Little Rock Robert M. Honea, Hardin, Jesson & Terry, PLC, Little Rock Lauren White Hoover, Lacerra, Dickson, Hoover, & Rogers, PLLC, Little Rock Angela M. Mann, Mann & Kemp, Little Rock J. Don Overton, The Overton Firm, LLC, Little Rock Judge Herb T. Wright, Circuit Judge, 6th Judicial District, Fourth Division

The 2020-2021 Arkansas Bar Foundation/ Arkansas Bar Association Joint Award Recipients:

Association President Paul W. Keith and Arkansas Bar Foundation President Judge Cindy G. Thyer presented the following joint awards:

- Outstanding Lawyer Award: Paul D. McNeill, RMP LLP, Jonesboro, in recognition of excellence in the practice of law and outstanding contributions to the profession
- C. E. Ransick Award of Excellence: Sherry P. Bartley, Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C., Little Rock, in recognition of outstanding contributions to the profession
- Equal Justice Distinguished Service Award: Judge Amy Dunn Johnson, Circuit Judge, 6th Judicial District, 15th Division, in recognition of commitment to and participation in equal justice programs, including pro bono efforts through legal services programs
- Outstanding Jurist Award: Judge Joyce Williams Warren, Little Rock, in recognition of exceptional competency, efficiency and integrity on the Bench and exemplary service to the administration of justice
- Outstanding Local Bar Association: Sebastian County Bar Association

About Arkansas Bar Association

Founded in 1898, the Arkansas Bar Association is the premier legal association in the state. As a voluntary organization of more than 5,000 members, the Association's primary mission is to support attorneys; advance the practice of law; advocate for the legal profession; foster professionalism, civility, and integrity; and protect the rule of law.

About Arkansas Bar Foundation

The Arkansas Bar Foundation was established in 1958 to support efforts at improving the administration of justice. The Arkansas Bar Foundation, which is classified as a tax-exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, is a charitable organization with a mission to promote educational, literary, scientific and charitable purposes.

###