For Immediate Release June 20, 2019

The Arkansas Bar Association Announces New Officers and Names of Award Recipients

The Arkansas Bar Association announces new officers for the 2019-2020 bar year:

President: Brian M. Rosenthal, Rose Law Firm, Little Rock

Board of Governors Chair: Brandon K. Moffitt, Moffitt & Phillips, PLLC, Little Rock

President-Elect: Paul W. Keith, Gibson & Keith, Monticello

Immediate Past President: Suzanne Clark, Clark Law Firm, PLLC, Fayetteville

Secretary: Glen Hoggard, Hoggard Law Firm, Little Rock

Treasurer: Joseph Kolb, j.kolb, Little Rock

Parliamentarian: Aaron Squyres, Wilson & Associates, PLLC, Little Rock

Young Lawyers Section Chair: Stefan K. McBride, Davidson Law Firm, Little Rock

The association recognized the following attorneys with awards during its annual meeting June 12-14 at the Hot Springs Convention Center:

Judge Morris S. Arnold, United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, Little Rock, received the Maurice Cathey award for his valued contributions to *The Arkansas Lanyer* magazine.

Kandice A. Bell, Law Office of Governor Asa Hutchinson, Senior Counselor and District Representative, Little Rock, received a Golden Gavel award for her work as co-chair of the Member Benefits Committee.

Carl J. Circo, Ben J. Altheimer Professor of Legal Advocacy, University of Arkansas School of Law, Fayetteville, received the CLE Award for elevating the quality of continuing legal education provided through ArkBar CLE.

J.B. Cross, JB Cross Construction Law, Little Rock, received the CLE Award for elevating the quality of continuing legal education provided through ArkBar CLE.

Brad Hendricks, The Brad Hendricks Law Firm, Little Rock, received a Golden Gavel award for his work as chair of the Professional Ethics Committee.

Jamie Huffman Jones, Friday, Eldredge & Clark, LLP, Little Rock, received a Golden Gavel award for her work as chair of the 2019 Mid-Year Meeting.

Chris Hussein, Staff Attorney in the Consumer Protection Workgroup at Legal Aid of Arkansas, Inc., Springdale, received the YLS Award of Excellence.

Paul W. Keith, Gibson & Keith, Monticello, received a Golden Gavel award for his work as chair of the Jurisprudence and Law Reform Committee.

J. Cliff McKinney II, Quattlebaum, Grooms & Tull PLLC, Little Rock, received the Outgoing Board of Governors Chair award.

Anthony L. McMullen, Assistant Professor of Business Law, University of Central Arkansas, Conway, received the Lawyer Community Legacy Award in recognition of his volunteer public service for the mock trail competition.

Jordan Rogers, Program Coordinator, Arkansas Access to Justice, Little Rock, received the Judith Ryan Gray Outstanding Young Lawyer award.

Aaron L. Squyres, Wilson & Associates, PLLC, Little Rock, received a Golden Gavel award for his work as chair of the Legislation Committee.

Scott C. Trotter, Trotter Law Firm, PLLC, Little Rock, received a Golden Gavel award for his work as a Jurisprudence and Law Reform Committee Subject Matter Expert.

Vicki Vasser-Jenkins, Of Counsel Attorney, Wright, Lindsey & Jennings, LLP, Rogers, received a Golden Gavel award for her work as chair of the 2019 Annual Meeting.

Samantha Vital, Davis, Clark, Butt, Carithers & Taylor, PLC, Springdale, received the YLS Award of Excellence.

Eddie H. Walker, Jr., Walker, Shock & Harp, P.L.L.C, Fort Smith, received a Presidential Award of Excellence for his work as chair of the Strategic Governance Task Force.

The association and the Arkansas Bar Foundation recognized the following attorneys with joint awards:

F. Thomas Curry, McMillan, McCorkle & Curry, LLP, Arkadelphia, received the Outstanding Lawyer-Citizen Award in recognition of outstanding participation in and for excellent performance of civic responsibilities and for demonstrating high standards of professional competence and conduct.

Chief Justice John Dan Kemp, Arkansas Supreme Court, received the Outstanding Jurist Award in recognition of exceptional competency, efficiency and integrity on the Bench and exemplary service to the administration of justice.

Gordon S. Rather, Jr., Wright, Lindsey & Jennings, LLP, Little Rock, received the James H. McKenzie Professionalism Award in recognition of sustained excellence through integrity, character and leadership to the profession and the community.

Steven Shults, Shults & Adams LLP, Little Rock, received the Equal Justice Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his commitment to and participation in equal justice programs, including pro bono efforts through legal services programs.

Laura Hensley Smith, Friday, Eldredge & Clark, LLP, Little Rock, received the Outstanding Lawyer Award in recognition of excellence in the practice of law and outstanding contributions to the profession.

James D. Sprott, Sprott, Golden & Bardwell, Harrison, received the C. E. Ransick Award of Excellence in recognition of outstanding contributions to the profession.

The Pulaski County Bar Association and Sebastian County Bar Association received the Outstanding Local Bar Association awards.

The Arkansas Bar Association, established in 1898, is a voluntary, statewide organization with more than 5,000 members. Among its purposes are the advancement of the administration of justice and the fostering among its members of high ideals of integrity, learning and public service.